Skip to content

Sketching Fashion Figures: My method

February 7, 2012

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m currently taking a fashion illustration class. I don’t consider myself naturally artistic, so it’s been a challenge making my croquis look, well, human. But honestly, it’s getting better. When I first started the class I would get very frustrated because the instructor just kept saying “look at the shape of the (arm, leg, waist, etc) and just try to follow that.” Well, yes, I suppose if I could look at the shape of something and then just draw it I wouldn’t need this class, would I? However, I can’t, so that method didn’t really work for me.

Through some trial and error I’ve found that I’m just a bit more left-brained when it comes to this process. I can’t create a pretty curved line on my own. I need some guidance. So I take it down to the very basic shapes. As in, straight lines.

Sorry about the images. But you can kind of see that the croqui on the right is literally just straight lines. The croqui on the left is how it looks once I’ve softened and shaded everything out. It’s not the quickest process, but it’s the one that works for me and I’m pretty happy with the results. Now I just need to start practicing the clothing (arguably the most important part of the illustration).

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2012 10:19 am

    You are doing a fantastic job!

  2. February 7, 2012 1:33 pm

    You blow mine out of the water!! Mine are TERRIBLE!! I can’t draw people to save my life!!! What a fun class!

  3. Whitney permalink
    February 7, 2012 8:19 pm

    Wow you are doing a fabulous job! Seriously mine would still look like stick figures! Keep up the good work! http://www.devinandwhitney.blogspot.com

  4. February 8, 2012 6:41 am

    I think these are great sketches! I wish I knew how to draw, I think it would be really relaxing and rewarding ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. February 9, 2012 4:44 pm

    the sketches look good, too bad im not natural artistic but we thank God for inspirations yeah? lol
    just found your blog…really nice!
    hope you enjoy the rest of your day
    http://ironyofashi.blogspot.com/

  6. February 10, 2012 9:05 am

    wow you are really good at it, keep up good work!!
    xxo

  7. February 10, 2012 12:15 pm

    These are great sketches don’t doubt yourself! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Would you check out my blog? http://07wonders.blogspot.com/
    i am new to blogging teehee

    xxx

  8. February 10, 2012 2:28 pm

    what a great job! so very talented! can’t wait to see the the clothing sketches ๐Ÿ™‚
    xo TJ

  9. February 10, 2012 8:32 pm

    I think you are doing great ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for sharing!

    XX,
    Miranda

  10. February 12, 2012 10:10 am

    cute!!!

    http://glamourgirl-bg.blogspot.com/

  11. February 13, 2012 4:08 am

    Beautiful! ๐Ÿ™‚
    http://liberty-walk-sara.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

