Skip to content

A good start to 2012

January 2, 2012

I don’t do resolutions. This is only because I never keep them. Ever. Sure I want to lose weight. Workout more. Eat healthier. Yaddah yaddah yaddah, but I’m no making a resolution to do so. My only “goal” this year is to try to be positive. I mean, I’m not a negative person by nature (I don’t think) but I can get discouraged easily. So that’s the one thing I want to work on. Though I still wouldn’t call it a resolution, because I started that goal a few weeks ago.

With or without resolutions, I had a pretty fun New Year’s Eve. My sister and her husband came over, we played games, ate a ton of food, watched a movie. All just very low key. Then I made a delicious (if I do say so, myself) breakfast the next morning to start the new year off right, we took the dog to the dog park and I spent the rest of the day cleaning and sewing. It was very relaxing and just lovely.

And I finally (FINALLY) finished that skirt.

(Sorry for the awful photos. That’s why I’m saving up for a nicer camera.)

It’s far from a perfect first attempt and it’s certainly not exactly innovative, but it’s finished and wearable and something I designed, from start to finish. (It reminds me of something Brooklyn Blonde might wear. She looks great in bright pink.) It was tough, I usually cut corners when I sew, but I made a conscious effort to do it the right way this time. Measuring, basting, pressing, lining, etc. And I definitely need practice with zippers. They kill me! Or maybe I’ll just make everything button up.

So, what would you pair with this brown and pink skirt? I don’t usually wear these colors, so I’m stumped.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Samantha permalink
    January 2, 2012 9:54 pm

    Love the skirt. And thank you for the beautiful scarf (I will deliver payment soon I promise). I would probably do something neutral on the top, like a cream or lighter beige…but you would definitely want to accessorize with a nice chain necklace (maybe gold) to liven up the blouse.

    Hope that helps!

  2. January 3, 2012 4:06 pm

    Happy new years! I am glad yours was lovely 🙂

    XX,
    Miranda

  3. January 5, 2012 10:52 am

    I really like the skirt, I have also been working on some ideas for some pieces. It is so rewarding to envision something, create it, and then wear it! Can’t wait to see what else you design 🙂

  4. January 18, 2012 1:59 pm

    Gorgeous skirt. Love your blog, Rebecca.

    Kisses from Norwegian model, blogger and student
    http://karolinekalvo.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

