Skip to content

Feeling the New Year’s bug

December 26, 2011

Every year around this time I start getting the New Year’s bug. No, it’s not the latest terrifying, everyone’s-gonna-catch-it-and-die super flu. It’s just a feeling I get that makes me want to revamp something in my life. To change something for the better. Frankly, I’m awful at resolutions. I have yet to really stick to a single NYE resolution I’ve ever set. But I definitely get the itch to make some changes in my life. And it seems like one of them is going to be to fully set up my office. I finally cleaned it (a big step for me), and now I’m dying to paint it. But I need help.

I’m no good at picking paint colors. The color I picked for my living room didn’t turn out the way I thought it would at all, even though I painted a swatch on my wall. So I’m a little gun shy. Right now, I’m trying to decide between a turquoisey/tealy color and a rich, medium grey color.

The coloring is a bit off in these photos. The rest of the room will have white trim and shelving. And I’ll likely go for yellow accents. I think I’m leaning toward the grey, but that blue/green is one of my favorite colors, too. I just don’t want to be overwhelmed with color and end up hating it. Am I just being a wuss? Is the blue vibrant and fun, or is the grey chic and modern? Please. Help!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    December 26, 2011 7:18 pm

    Grey! Painted my living room a similar color — best painting decision I’ve ever made. Elegant and makes the room very versatile — lots of decorating options. And it goes great with yellow!

  2. Elizabeth permalink
    December 26, 2011 8:09 pm

    Grey

  3. GiGi Reed permalink
    December 27, 2011 3:20 pm

    I love this post because I feel the exact same way…every.single.year! πŸ™‚

    http://www.glamorsham.blogspot.com

  4. December 28, 2011 11:08 am

    I like the grey! Or a darker teal.

  5. December 28, 2011 4:22 pm

    I love grey and it is such a great neutral color that allows you to to so much with the rest of the room πŸ™‚

    XX,
    Miranda

    Ps-Thanks for your comment on my blog!

Leave a Reply

