Skip to content

A craving for fish tacos, satisfied.

May 31, 2011

I had been hearing a bit of buzz about the newly-opened Hapa Tacos in downtown Salt Lake City. Seeing as Saturday would be the only good weather for the long weekend (insert exasperated eye roll), it seemed like the perfect time to try them out. I also decided this would be the perfect occasion to take Trax downtown. One of the perks of my house is that fact that it’s about a block and a half away from a Trax station. This was pretty special in and of itself since it was my first Trax trip. This may not seem like a big deal to most, but for this small-town girl it was quite the event. Public transit has always been characteristic of a “big city” to me. I’m sure I was grinning like an idiot the whole ride. Am I a geek? You bet your first-edition comic book. But I felt happy, liberated and part of the city, so I don’t care.

Back to the fish tacos. Hapa Taqueria just opened two weeks ago in what used to be Acme Burgers at 275 S 200 W. It wasn’t terribly busy, but I’m learning that downtown isn’t exactly buzzing on the weekends unless there’s a festival or something going on. I’m not complaining, trust me. There was a small outdoor patio and a combination of booths and tables in, along with your standard red, yellow and green color scheme.

They also have a little salsa bar with a variety of salsas in varying degrees of heat. We tried a sampling and I really liked all of them. I also tried the standard margarita, which was a little more sour than I expected. Probably due to the fact that they use real lime juice. And I’m a wuss.

Here’s where I get embarrassed. I was so excited/hungry that I didn’t even snap a picture of the amazing street tacos we tried or the side of black beans. I tried the fish, my sister tried the chicken and my BIL tried the beef. They were piping hot, served in delicious corn tortillas with a crisp mix of cabbage, onions and lime juice on top. They were small, but I was very impressed by how much meat they stuffed into each one. The black beans were simply seasoned and also really tasty. I’m already craving those little fish tacos. I might have to make a special trip on a week night. Ya know, get really crazy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

