Skip to content

A Deluxe evening with Dirty Blonde

December 12, 2010

From the South, it reads Bar Luxe. From the North, Bar De. However, I’m pretty sure it’s listed in the phone book as Bar Deluxe, sharing the name with the tattoo parlor just next door. I never know what to expect when going to a bar to listen to a band, but this time I was pleasantly surprised.

I went with my husband to watch Dirty Blonde perform Friday night. Mat works with the drummer, Cale Montrone. It was one of those nights when all I want to do is sit at home on the couch and veg. But I agreed to go and I’m glad I did. It was my first time at Bar Deluxe and, as far as bars go, I liked it. The open space with high ceilings and a raised stage in the back kept it from feeling overly crowded, as many bars do. Especially on a Friday night.

I also never know what to expect when listening to a new band for the first time. I am pretty open to most kinds of music, but sometimes I’m a bit disappointed. Yet again, I was very pleasantly surprised. Dirty Blonde is a perfect example of what’s good about rock ‘n roll. They have a very classic sound without ever sounding like a cover band or a tribute band. They take the great elements of rock and create music that is current and fresh.  The singer, Spencer Flowers, has an impressive vocal range with the ability to go from sounding raw to melodic without skipping a beat. Each one of their songs had beats and lyrics that made them immediately enjoyable.

You can read an interview with the band here, check out their Myspace page here and their Facebook page here. Their CD should be available soon and I’m definitely adding it to my collection. They also play around the valley often, so if you get a chance to see them, I’d definitely recommend it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

