Skip to content

I got scared and it was totally awesome

August 26, 2010

This is my brother.

I know it’s hard to tell, but he is, in fact, my younger brother. Four years younger. I’ve written before about how ridiculously proud I am of him and what he’s doing with his life, so I won’t bore you with gushing. Well, not much of it, at least.

His band, Get Scared, performed at Club Sound on August 5. All but one of my sisters, who was kind enough to provide babysitting services for the evening, came to the show. When we got there the other bands were still playing so we just kind of loitered a bit, went in to listen to the other band a minute and purchased some merchandise. After a bit of mingling, my younger sister and I ventured downstairs.

Walking in to the basement at Club Sound, I was met with a wall of thick, hot air. The ceilings were low and the space was crowded with pool tables, cocktail tables and chairs. Other musicians lounged on the semi-circular booths. Faint smoke hung in the air, though I never did see anyone light up. Nearly every surface in the room Get Scared used to get ready was covered in leopard print.

Through the suffocating heat, Brad, Nick and Johnny went to work getting ready for the show, though they didn’t seem too pleased about it. “I wanna be a real boy,” Nick joked as he smeared some pale foundation on to his face. When it was time for the show, my family and I made our way in to Club Sound where the crowd had more than tripled. My younger sister and I elbowed our way through the masses up to the stage. I fully planned on making a fool of myself and I figured that would go a little more unnoticed among a group of crazies.

To put it very lightly, the crowd went wild when Brad, Nick and Johnny made their way on stage. Salt Lake loves them! And Get Scared definitely puts on a good performance. It will never cease to amaze me that my brother can play the guitar flawlessly while jumping, yelling, singing back-up vocals and going all-out crazy. The boy’s got skills.


(Nick is the lead singer. That’s Johnny with the blond hair and guitar.)

They put on a great show. They sang the songs from their first release, including Voodoo and Sarcasm. People screamed, moshed and sang along. After playing six or seven songs they thanked everyone and walked off stage. Ears ringing from the speakers and lips tingling from screaming, I wasn’t ready for it to be over. And, apparently, neither was anyone else. The crowd starting chanting “One more song! One more song!” Of course, Get Scared graciously came back on stage and played a song off of their soon-to-be-released album, Fail.

It. Was. Awesome!

The crowd was appeased and Get Scared was allowed to leave the stage. Outside, Brad, Nick and Johnny posed for pictures and signed anything handed to them, including some body parts. My parents, sisters and I all stood to the side, dazzled at the fan love. I don’t think my dad has ever grinned that hard and for that long.

As things slowly calmed down we got our chance to hug our rock star goodbye. It was a great show and a great night. Few things give a girl pride like seeing her little brother doing what he loves. He’s worked so hard for this and it shows. I can’t wait for their new album to hit stores, which will hopefully be sometime in the next couple months.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    August 26, 2010 11:40 pm

    Yes, it was a great show! Can’t wait for them to play here again!

  2. Andi permalink
    April 27, 2011 11:39 am

    This is awesome. Get Scared is my favorite band 🙂

Leave a Reply

