Skip to content

My weekend a.k.a. Why I love the big city

June 21, 2010

Friday night I met up with  my sisters and my mom downtown. We ate at Paradise Bakery (best tomato soup EVER!) and then headed to the Gallery Stroll. I’ve never been to this downtown event, but my sister is an art history major, so she was quite excited to check it out. Every third Friday of the month, many of the downtown galleries open their doors to the public, allowing them to enjoy the art in the city. They have everything from Rembrandt to local artists. I’m not big in to art, personally, but I love just walking around downtown. It may not be big, but Salt Lake is a really clean and interesting downtown. The weather was perfect for us, as well. And my sister bought us each a little handmade magnet from one of the booths on Broadway.

Saturday morning I met up with Erin and her brother to go to the Farmer’s Market at Pioneer Park. But first, we ate breakfast at Gourmandise. This bakery/sandwich shop has easily become one of my favorite places to eat downtown. I hadn’t realized they served breakfast, but oh man! I ordered the Bonjour panini and Erin got the Tuscan panini. And like the smart little girls that we are, we shared! And for dessert (because you always have dessert after breakfast!) we shared a strawberry circle. Freshly whipped cream, strawberries and puff pastry. Mmmmmmm.

We walked down to the market and meandered around the booths and checked out the early produce and the crafts. It was fun, but there wasn’t a ton of produce there. Not even peas yet! But I got another cute little magnet (I think I’m developing a collection) and a basil plant that I just realized I forgot to water this morning. D’oh!

My favorite part of the market was this adorable little boy playing the violin. He was good! And just the sweetest little heartbreaker you’ve ever seen. I had to give him a dollar.

Saturday evening I made my husband go with me on a quick trip to the mall to find some jeans that actually fit me! I successfully found two pair and was back home in less than an hour.

Sunday morning husband and I met up with his brother and his family to go the Hogle Zoo. It’s been a couple years since we’ve been to the zoo, so it sounded like fun. We got there by 10 a.m. and it wasn’t terribly busy. It was warm, but breezy. Perfect zoo weather. The thing I was most looking forward to was the new baby elephant that was born at the zoo last year. Little baby Zuri. The zoo does a little ‘show’ with the elephants a couple times a day and usually, it’s more educational than entertaining. This time, they opened the fence into the enrichment area and little Zuri came racing in, running very clumsily around the area, doing little turns and kicking at the ball. It was the most adorable thing I’ve seen. That alone was worth the admission for me.

After the zoo, husband and I ventured out to BFE to Ikea. Let me just take a moment to say… I. Love. Ikea! We spend a couple hours there perusing the showroom and roaming through the home decor. We purchased lights, a mirror, side table, decorative storage boxed and nightstands and STILL spent less than I expected.

So this is why I love the city. It is completely feasible to do a 1001 crazy things in a single weekend!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Samantha permalink
    June 21, 2010 8:25 pm

    I Love Ikea too! How far was it from you guys? I am so glad you had such a great weekend! Jerry and I are taking Bailey to the Art Festival Friday night. We should meet up for dinner!

  2. Jeni permalink
    June 22, 2010 6:46 am

    Oh my! You sound like you were made for the city and have just fit right in over night! I am so happy for you! What a great weekend!

  3. Candice permalink
    June 24, 2010 2:00 pm

    OH. I love IKEA too!! I’m planning on making many trips to that one when I get back.
    Your weekend sounds like so much fun! I’m glad you’re liking it in SLC!

Leave a Reply

