Skip to content

Welcome!

March 2, 2010

Thanks for visiting my new baby. Let me take a minute and explain why I started this blog.

In high school I took a fashion merchandising class and fell completely and utterly in love. While working on the fashion board, planning the fashion shows, sewing the clothes, fitting the models, I felt more energy and more joy in my accomplishments than I ever had before. I knew that was what I wanted to do with my life. I planned on attending the Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising (FIDM) upon graduation. Of course, things didn’t happen just as I planned.

Eight months after I graduated I got married. What? Don’t judge. I’m from Utah! What do you expect?! Anyway, that put things on hold, so I started attending a local university to get some generals out of the way, always holding on to the dream of attending FIDM someday.

About two years ago I decided I didn’t want to wait anymore. I convinced my husband that we’d only be moving to California for a few years. I applied and got accepted! Unfortunately, private colleges in California are muy expensive. I couldn’t get the loans or grants necessary to pay for tuition and there was no way my husband and I could save up enough money for me to go.

I was devastated. I cried and cried the day I realized that, once again, my dream slipped out of my fingertips. There was little else I could do. So I decided on a major and am finishing up my Bachelor’s degree this May.

However, I’ve always felt I was missing something. This blog is my attempt to get that feeling back. To give myself some sort of creative outlet. To express myself. This blog is going to be all about the things that inspire me. Since 80% of my inspiration and joy comes from fashion, most of my posts will be fashion related. But music, art and food are also inspirational. So there’s bound to be a smattering of anything and everything that inspires me on this blog.

Hope you enjoy.

Love your insides,
R

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

